Daniel Gibbs and Bruno Magras ask the Minister of Overseas France to lift the imperative reasons for traveling to Saint-Martin and St-Barthélemy

0

The president of Saint-Martin Daniel Gibbs and the President of Saint Barthélemy Bruno Magras co-signed a letter, on Wednesday February 3, addressed to the Minister of Overseas, Sébastien Lecornu, asking for the immediate lifting of the new travel restrictions for our islands. President Gibbs personally delivered the letter to Sébastien Lecornu yesterday during his meeting with the Minister. Daniel Gibbs was able to defend in person the urgency of lifting these restrictions for the Northern Islands.

The new health restrictions put in place by the government now impose a compelling reason for travel between Saint-Martin and Barthélemy but also from and to the metropolis and to other overseas territories.

The two presidents indicate with one voice that the health situation in the northern islands does not justify such a measure, as hospital capacities are absolutely not under strain to date, recalling that this zero risk strategy is not tenable. in our tourist islands which are currently in high season and even though it is very likely that this crisis will continue and that the problem of variant viruses will remain the same in a few months.

The two presidents therefore fear that this isolation measure will drag on and put a stop to our economy. They call on the government to reconsider the situation in the northern islands and to restore the previous health protocol asking pleasure visitors to observe a 7-day prophylactic isolation followed by a PCR test. This measure had just been put into effect and our socio-professionals had already adapted to it.

As President Gibbs told Minister Lecornu "the lifting of compelling reasons (except for British nationals) is vital to save the economy of the northern islands".

The Collectivity of Saint-Martin also recalls the constant efforts made by the local authorities in recent weeks to strengthen screening and vaccination resources and to increase prevention among residents.

"While tourism is the engine of our economy and there are two months of high season, it is for the sustainability of our companies, some of which will not recover if these new restrictions were to continue", indicate the two presidents in this joint letter, hoping that the appeal of the Northern Islands will be heard as soon as possible.

 6,800 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Daniel Gibbs et Bruno Magras demandent au ministre des Outre-mer la levée des motifs impérieux de voyage pour Saint-Martin et St- Barthélemy

0

Le président de Saint-Martin Daniel Gibbs et le Président de Saint Barthélemy Bruno Magras ont co-signé un courrier, le mercredi 3 février dernier, adressé au ministre des Outre-mer, Sébastien Lecornu, demandant la levée immédiate des nouvelles restrictions de voyage pour nos îles. Le Président Gibbs a remis le courrier en main propre à Sébastien Lecornu, hier, lors de son entretien avec le ministre. Daniel Gibbs a pu défendre de vive voix l’urgence à lever ces restrictions pour les Iles du Nord.

Les nouvelles restrictions sanitaires mises en place par le gouvernement imposent désormais un motif impérieux de voyage entre Saint-Martin et Barthélemy mais aussi depuis et vers la métropole et vers les autres territoires ultramarins.

Les deux présidents indiquent d’une seule voix que la situation sanitaire des îles du nord ne justifie pas une telle mesure, les capacités hospitalières n’étant absolument pas sous tension à ce jour, rappelant que cette stratégie du risque zéro n’est pas tenable dans nos îles touristiques qui sont actuellement en haute saison et alors même qu’il est fort probable que cette crise se prolonge et que le problème des virus variants reste le même dans quelques mois.

Les deux présidents craignent donc que cette mesure d’isolement s’éternise et mette un coup d’arrêt à notre économie. Ils demandent au gouvernement de reconsidérer la situation des îles du nord et de rétablir le protocole sanitaire antérieur demandant aux visiteurs d’agrément d’observer un isolement prophylactique de 7 jours suivi d’un test PCR. Cette mesure venait d’être mise en vigueur et nos socioprofessionnels s’y étaient déjà adaptés.

Comme l’a indiqué le président Gibbs au ministre Lecornu « la levée des motifs impérieux (sauf pour les ressortissants britanniques) est vitale pour sauver l’économie des îles du nord ».

La Collectivité de Saint-Martin rappelle par ailleurs les efforts constants produits par les autorités locales ces dernières semaines, pour renforcer les moyens de dépistage et de vaccination et accentuer la prévention auprès des habitants.

« Alors que le tourisme est le moteur de notre économie et qu’il reste deux mois de haute saison, il en va de la pérennité de nos entreprises dont certaines ne se relèveront pas si ces nouvelles restrictions devaient perdurer », indiquent les deux présidents dans ce courrier conjoint, espérant que l’appel des Iles du Nord sera entendu dans les plus brefs délais.

 2,707 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT