Cyclone Fiona: At least five people are believed to have lost their lives in the Caribbean

0

After causing significant damage in Guadeloupe, Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, the small Turks and Caicos Islands and the Bermuda archipelago, cyclone Fiona is heading straight for Canada and the French archipelago of Saint- Pierre and Miquelon.

 It has never been so powerful, so much so that the National Hurricane Center (NHC), the weather forecasting center dedicated to hurricanes, raised it to category 4 on Wednesday morning. This is the penultimate level of severity on the Saffir-Simpson scale, a scale for classifying the intensity of cyclones up to 5.

During her passage through the Caribbean, Fiona caused serious damage. One man lost his life in Guadeloupe and at least four others are believed to have died in the Dominican Republic. The entire island of Puerto Rico was cut off from electricity and 800.000 people were also left without drinking water.

According to specialists, the reinforcement of Fiona "was brutal and took place immediately off the coast of Guadeloupe".

Fiona is expected to hit the Atlantic and Eastern Quebec on Friday and Saturday. _AF

 5,886 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Cyclone Fiona : Au moins cinq personnes auraient perdu la vie dans les Caraïbes

0

Après avoir fait d’importants dégâts en Guadeloupe, à Porto Rico, en République dominicaine, sur les petites îles Turks et Caïques et l’archipel des Bermudes, le cyclone Fiona se dirige tout droit vers le Canada et l’archipel français de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon.

 Il n’a jamais été aussi puissant, à tel point que le National Hurricane Center (NHC), le centre de prévisions météorologiques dédié aux ouragans, l’a élevé en catégorie 4 mercredi matin. Il s’agit de l’avant-dernier niveau de gravité sur l’échelle de Saffir-Simpson, échelle de classification de l’intensité des cyclones allant jusqu’à 5.

À son passage dans les Caraïbes, Fiona a causé de sérieux dégâts. Un homme a perdu la vie en Guadeloupe et au moins quatre autres seraient mortes en République dominicaine. L’ensemble de l’île de Porto Rico a été coupé d’électricité et 800.000 personnes se sont également retrouvées sans eau potable.

Selon les spécialistes, le renforcement de Fiona « a été brutal et s’est effectué au large immédiat du littoral de la Guadeloupe ».

Fiona devrait frapper l’Atlantique et l’est du Québec vendredi et samedi. _AF

 1,003 vues totales,  10 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Article sponsorisé par :


Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT