CULTURE: The former commander of the PAF releases his 2nd thriller

0

Interview with Pascal Drampe who leaves Insoutenable inheritance. His books are available from Bod editions and will be distributed in bookstores in Saint-Martin at the end of the year.

You have just published your third book in just over a year. Writing seems to have become a real (and new) passion ...

I must admit that at the beginning of writing my testimony, Cop, a job that kills ... published by Nestor in April 2019,  my only objective was to show my profession from a different angle by delivering behind the scenes. And then, the pleasure of writing and the discovery of this passion were born. I was able to see, through the many feedback from readers, that the feather represented a real weapon. Writing is the possibility of leaving a trace of one's passage, of passing on messages.

Unbearable legacy, your third book is the second part of the Blanco series. If the first was inspired by real events, this new volume tells a fiction. How did you get this story?

Blanco 1, “unsuspected revenge” was the corollary of a request from the readers of my first manuscript. They wanted more details than I could convey to them in a testimony but which I could produce in a thriller.

Unlike Blanco 2 “unbearable heritage” which at the beginning is a pure invention, to finally stick incredibly to reality. I surprised myself, the more my manuscript evolved. I can tell you that I have felt chills more than once. Yet, I have seen others in my tumultuous career.

This intrigue came to me by chance, during a discussion with a friend, Harry Verschueren, who told me that he had been impressed, in the early 70s, by a visit to the former prison for women in the Petite Roquette in Paris. He had lived this experience thanks to Doctor Georges Fully, the Inspector General of the Penitentiary Administration, tragically assassinated in 1973, the year of the closure of this establishment. Moreover, this parcel bomb attack has never been elucidated ... I decided, from this element of language, to write a thriller based solely on fiction. But then, that it was not my surprise, after the framework of the manuscript, to note that the reality seemed to exceed the fiction.

Is Blanco's next installment already being written?

You know, writing a book is the most enjoyable part for an author. But there is the promotion aspect of the book which is the most restrictive and the most embarrassing, because you have to sell yourself. Unless you are published by a large publishing house, you have to do all the work yourself, finding bookstores for dedications, media support, big personal investment. Small publishing houses have little or no capacity to market as they should. So for the next few months, I'm going to promote the book in mainland France before undertaking the one in the Antilles-Guyana, like last year.

Do you have other projects?

I must also honor a few meetings in Paris to propose my film scenario "Fatal Destiny", inspired by real events, which traces the parallel journeys of the ex-public enemy number 1 of the West Indian arc, Patrick Thimalon and the mine, since our last duel and our last shootout were fatal to him.

I felt the need to write this film because through our eyes, just before the shots started, and as I accompanied him on the road to death, I felt, deep within me , this amazing feeling of being confronted with my fellow man, even if it was in the other camp. I know that he committed criminal acts but I also know to have dealt with a combative and dignified man in the face of death.

I also wrote a soap opera in eight episodes which should be titled “Blanco, iconoclaste”, it is also an ongoing project.

As soon as I returned to Saint-Martin, I would write Blanco 3 “Implacable justice”. I have the thriller in mind, all I have to do now is write it down… Blanco 4 is already taking shape.

(Soualigapost.com)

 5,872 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

CULTURE : L’ancien commandant de la PAF sort son 2ème polar

0
blank

blankInterview de Pascal Drampe qui sort Insoutenable héritage. Ses livres sont disponibles aux éditions Bod et seront distribués dans les librairies de Saint-Martin à la fin de l’année.

Vous venez de publier votre troisième livre en tout juste un an. L’écriture semble être devenue une vraie (et nouvelle) passion…

Je dois reconnaître qu’au commencement de l’écriture de mon témoignage Flic, un métier qui tue… publié chez Nestor en avril 2019,  je n’avais pour seul objectif que de faire découvrir mon métier sous un angle différent en y délivrant l’envers du décor. Et puis, le plaisir d’écrire et la découverte de cette passion ont vu le jour. J’ai pu constater, via les nombreux retours de lecteurs, que la plume représentait une réelle arme. Ecrire est la possibilité de laisser une trace de son passage, de faire passer des messages.

Insoutenable héritage, votre troisième livre est le deuxième volet de la série Blanco. Si le premier était inspiré de faits réels, ce nouveau tome raconte une fiction. Comment vous est venue cette histoire ?

Blanco 1, « insoupçonnable vengeance » était le corollaire d’une demande des lecteurs de mon premier manuscrit. Ils souhaitaient plus de détails que je ne pouvais leur transmettre dans un témoignage mais qu’il m’était possible de produire dans un polar.

A l’inverse de Blanco 2 « insoutenable héritage » qui au départ est une pure invention, pour finalement coller incroyablement à la réalité. Je me suis surpris moi-même, plus mon manuscrit évoluait. Je puis vous dire que j’en ai ressenti plus d’une fois des frissons. Pourtant, j’en ai vu d’autres dans ma carrière ô combien tumultueuse.

Cette intrigue m’est venue de manière fortuite, lors d’une discussion avec un ami, Harry Verschueren, qui me faisait part qu’il avait été impressionné, au début des années 70, par la visite de l’ancienne prison pour femmes de la Petite Roquette à Paris. Il avait vécu cette expérience grâce au Docteur Georges Fully, l’Inspecteur général de l’Administration Pénitentiaire, tragiquement assassiné en 1973, année de la fermeture de cet établissement. Cet attentat au colis piégé n’a d’ailleurs jamais été élucidé…J’ai décidé, à partir de cet élément de langage, d’écrire un polar basé uniquement sur la fiction. Mais alors, qu’elle ne fut pas ma surprise, après la trame du manuscrit, de constater que la réalité semblât dépasser la fiction.

Le prochain volet de Blanco est-il déjà en cours d’écriture ?

Vous savez, écrire un livre, c’est la partie la plus agréable pour un auteur. Mais il y a le volet promotion du livre qui est le plus contraignant et le plus gênant, car il faut se vendre. A moins d’être publié par une grande maison d’éditions, il faut faire tout le boulot soi-même, recherche de librairies pour les dédicaces, de support médiatiques, gros investissement personnel. Les petites maisons d’éditions n’ont pas ou peu la capacité de commercialiser comme elles le devraient. Alors ces mois prochains, je pars faire la promo du livre en métropole avant d’entreprendre celle aux Antilles-Guyane, comme l’année dernière.

Avez-vous d’autres projets ?

Je dois également honorer quelques rendez-vous à Paris pour proposer mon scénario de film «Destin fatal», inspiré de faits réels, qui retrace les parcours parallèles de l’ex-ennemi public numéro 1 de l’arc antillais, Patrick Thimalon et le mien, puisque notre dernier duel et notre dernière fusillade lui ont été fatales.

J’ai éprouvé le besoin d’écrire ce film car à travers nos regards, juste avant le départ des coups de feu, et alors que je l’accompagnais sur le chemin de la mort, j’ai ressenti, au plus profond de moi, cette étonnante sensation d’être confronté à mon semblable, même si c’était dans l’autre camp. Je sais qu’il a commis des actes criminels mais je sais aussi avoir eu affaire à un homme combatif et digne devant la mort.

J’ai également écrit un feuilleton en huit épisodes qui devrait se titrer « Blanco, iconoclaste », c’est aussi un projet en cours.

Dès mon retour à Saint-Martin, j’écrirais le Blanco 3 «Implacable justice ». J’ai le polar en tête, ne me reste plus qu’à l’écrire…Le Blanco 4 se dessine déjà.

(Soualigapost.com)

blank

Article sponsorisé par :


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT