Red Cross: Overseas director visits Saint Martin

0

Recently, Frédéric Pichonnat, Overseas Director of the Red Cross, was in Saint-Martin during the inauguration of the Day Reception Center (LAJ) located at the Maison Croix-Rouge in Concordia. The opportunity for Frédéric Pichonnat to meet the new team of volunteers, as well as the employees, as he does, about twice a year.

  Faxinfo: The Red Cross has been involved a lot in recent years and especially since Irma…

  Frédéric Pichonnat: The team of volunteers was already present and they carried out many food aid missions, close to the people who are most in need. But it is true that since Irma we have strengthened our actions, and we have allowed ourselves to expand our activities.

  Faxinfo: It seems that the operation and the structure, since Irma, have changed somewhat compared to previous years.

  Frédéric Pichonnat: There was no establishment, there were far fewer employees. So we have somewhat professionalized everything that is marauding, social emergency services, day care… All of this was done within a well-defined framework, and indeed there are slightly more employees than before. This shows the investment that the Red Cross wants to give in its support for Saint-Martin and for the poorest.

  Faxinfo: How many people does the Red Cross in Saint Martin work with?

  Frédéric Pichonnat: There are now around thirty volunteers in Saint-Martin. There are a lot of “one-day” volunteers, young people who come when there is a need, it's pretty united. I think that Irma put a little boost to everyone in the concept of solidarity. And then it also helps to anchor the Red Cross a little more on a territory.

  Faxinfo: Has the Red Cross given itself the means to expand on the territory?

  Frédéric Pichonnat: We are present in all overseas territories and we are without doubt the only international association. And it's important for us to be here, before Irma, after Irma, in fact, all the time. We did not arrive for Irma, we did not leave after X months, like other associations which, perhaps, did not have the means… We gave ourselves the means by investing, on Red Cross equity for this premises in Concordia.

  Faxinfo: In the end, the structure of the Red Cross in Saint-Martin was considerably strengthened…

  Frédéric Pichonnat: Completely. It starts from an opportunity, and the cyclones have enabled the Red Cross to understand the needs of the population, of the Community. We are auxiliary to the public authorities, so we work with the ARS, the DJRCS, the prefecture… Each time, our principle of neutrality means that we call the Red Cross and that we put ourselves at their disposal.

We are always looking for a lot of volunteers. Do not hesitate to stop by the Red Cross office at 2 rue du Soleil Levant, in Concordia. There is always a need for donations, food aid, clothes, a small gift for children, especially during this Christmas period.

Interview by RM

 8,403 total views

About author

No comments

Grand Case Airport changes hands

Espérance de Grand-Case Airport will be managed by Ciclad and Impact Holding, the group of companies which is preparing to take over SNC Lavalin's activities in ...
%d bloggers like this page:

Croix-Rouge : Le directeur Outre-mer en visite à Saint-Martin

0
blank

Dernièrement, Frédéric Pichonnat, directeur Outre-mer de la Croix-Rouge, était à Saint-Martin lors de l’inauguration du Lieu d’Accueil de Jour (LAJ) situé à la Maison Croix-Rouge à Concordia. L’occasion, pour Frédéric Pichonnat, de rencontrer la nouvelle équipe de bénévoles, ainsi que les salariés, comme il le fait, environ, deux fois par an.

  Faxinfo : La Croix-Rouge s’est beaucoup impliquée depuis quelques années et notamment depuis Irma…

  Frédéric Pichonnat : L’équipe de bénévoles était déjà présente et elle assurait beaucoup de missions d’aide alimentaire, proche des personnes qui sont le plus dans le besoin. Mais c’est vrai que depuis Irma on a renforcé nos actions, et l’on s’est permis d’étendre nos activités.

  Faxinfo : Il semblerait que le fonctionnement et la structure, depuis Irma, ont quelque peu changé par rapport aux années précédentes.

  Frédéric Pichonnat : Il n’y avait pas d’établissement, il y avait beaucoup moins de salariés. Donc on a un peu professionnalisé tout ce qui est maraude, Samu social, accueil de jour… Tout ça a été fait dans un cadre bien défini, et effectivement il y a un peu plus de salariés qu’auparavant. Ça démontre l’investissement que la Croix-Rouge veut donner dans son accompagnement à Saint-Martin et aux plus démunis.

  Faxinfo : La Croix-Rouge à Saint-Martin fonctionne avec combien de personnes ?

  Frédéric Pichonnat : Il y a maintenant une trentaine de bénévoles à Saint-Martin. Il y a beaucoup de bénévoles « d’un jour », des jeunes qui viennent quand il y a un besoin, c’est assez solidaire. Je pense qu’Irma a mis un petit coup de boost à tout le monde dans la notion de solidarité. Et puis ça permet aussi d’ancrer un petit peu plus la Croix-Rouge sur un territoire.

  Faxinfo : La Croix-Rouge s’est donné les moyens de s’étoffer sur le territoire ?

  Frédéric Pichonnat : Nous sommes présents sur l’ensemble des territoires ultramarins et l’on est sans doute la seule association internationale. Et c’est important pour nous que l’on soit ici, avant Irma, après Irma, en fait, tout le temps. On n’est pas arrivé pour Irma, on n’est pas reparti au bout de X mois, comme d’autres associations qui, peut-être, n’avaient pas les moyens… On s’est donné les moyens en investissant, sur fonds propres de la Croix-Rouge, pour ce local à Concordia.

  Faxinfo : Au final, la structure de la Croix-Rouge à Saint-Martin s’est considérablement renforcée…

  Frédéric Pichonnat : Complètement. Ça part d’une opportunité, et les cyclones ont permis à la Croix-Rouge d’appréhender les besoins de la population, de la Collectivité. On est auxiliaire des pouvoirs publics, donc on travaille avec l’ARS, la DJRCS, la préfecture… Chaque fois, notre principe de neutralité fait qu’on appelle la Croix-Rouge et que l’on se met à leur disposition.

On cherche toujours beaucoup de bénévoles. Il ne faut pas hésiter à passer au local de la Croix-Rouge au 2 rue du Soleil Levant, à Concordia. Il y a toujours besoin de dons, d’aide alimentaires, de vêtements, d’un petit cadeau pour les enfants, surtout en cette période de Noël.

Propos recueillis par RM

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT