Readers' letter: Install surveillance cameras, yes, but not at any cost ...

0

I am a trader based in Marigot and your article published this Thursday, November 19 concerning security in shops made me jump when the commander of the gendarmerie, Mr. Stephan Basso advised traders to protect themselves to install surveillance cameras in their stores.

Since Hurricane IRMA passed, I installed 2 surveillance cameras, one directed towards the cash register and the other towards the front door. To my great surprise, I was the victim of a complaint filed by a neighboring merchant, very ill-intentioned who thought he was being spied on by my cameras ...

Two Gendarmes came to my business and saw that no camera was spying on anyone.

Despite this, I was summoned to the gendarmerie to take fingerprints and record a statement. Fortunately for me, the complaint was dismissed!

I take the opportunity to clarify that according to the law, all surveillance systems must be the subject of a request  authorization in the Prefecture and the installation in the trade of posters specifying that the establishment is under video surveillance.

I will therefore carefully keep this article which gives tacit authorization to traders to equip themselves with a video system and advises other traders to do the same so as not to experience the same mishap that happened to me.

Also wishing you not to have the same neighbors ...

_Gerard Lazeras, Artisan Chocolatier in Marigot

loading

About author

No comments

Courrier des lecteurs : Installer des caméras de surveillance oui mais pas à n’importe quel prix…

0
blank

Je suis un commerçant installé à Marigot et votre article paru ce jeudi 19 novembre concernant la sécurité au sein des commerces m’a fait sursauter lorsque le commandant de gendarmerie, Mr Stephan Basso a conseillé aux commerçants pour se protéger d’installer des caméras de surveillance dans leurs magasins.

Depuis le passage de l’ouragan IRMA, j’ai installé 2 caméras de surveillance, l’une dirigée en direction de la caisse et l’autre vers la porte d’entrée. A ma grande surprise, j’ai été victime d’un dépôt de plainte par un commerçant voisin, très mal intentionné qui estimait être espionné par mes caméras…

Deux Gendarmes se sont présentés à mon commerce et ont pu constater qu’aucune caméra espionnait qui que ce soit.

Malgré cela, j’ai été convoqué à la gendarmerie pour une prise d’empreintes et enregistrer une déposition. Heureusement pour moi, la plainte a été classée sans suite !

Je profite de l’occasion pour préciser que selon la loi, tous systèmes de surveillance doit faire l’objet d’une demande  d’autorisation en Préfecture et l’installation dans le commerce d’affiches précisant que l’établissement est sous surveillance vidéo.

Je vais donc conserver précieusement cet article qui donne autorisation tacite aux commerçants de s’équiper de système vidéo et conseille aux autres commerçants d’en faire de même afin de ne pas vivre la même mésaventure qui m’est arrivée.

En vous souhaitant également de ne pas avoir les mêmes voisins…

_Gérard Lazeras, Artisan Chocolatier à Marigot

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT