Corruption: two arrests in Sint Maarten

0

In the context of the fraud and corruption case in the port of Sint Maarten, known as Emerald, the anti-corruption brigade of Sint Maarten last week arrested FGR, fifty years old. 

Member of Parliament, he is suspected of tax fraud and of having accepted bribes. He is also suspected of having participated in a criminal organization whose purpose was to recruit votes during elections in his favor. Searches were carried out at Sucker Garden as well as in the French part, in particular at his home. Several documents were seized. The investigation is being conducted by the National Detective Agency of St Maarten under the direction of the prosecution.

The Sint Maarten anti-corruption brigade also arrested 53-year-old JHB. His name appeared in the so-called Larimar investigation, notably concerning the corruption of politicians, public authorities and people in the construction sector. His arrest follows searches at the end of January in a construction company in the Dutch part of which he is the director.

The two suspects, FGR and JBH, were placed in pre-trial detention last Wednesday. They were presented to an investigating judge two days later. The prosecutor subsequently ordered their detention in prison for eight days. (More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 6,685 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Corruption : deux interpellations à Sint Maarten

0

Dans le cadre de l’affaire de fraude et corruption sur le port de Sint Maarten, dite Emerald, la brigade anticorruption de Sint Maarten a interpellé la semaine dernière FGR, âgé de cinquante ans. 

Membre du Parlement, il est suspecté de fraude fiscale et d’avoir accepté des pots de vin. Il est aussi soupçonné d’avoir participé à une organisation criminelle dont le but était de recruter des voix lors des élections en sa faveur. Des perquisitions ont eu lieu à Sucker Garden ainsi qu’en partie française, notamment à son domicile. Plusieurs documents ont été saisis. L’enquête est menée par la National Detective Agency de St Maarten sous la direction du parquet.

La brigade anticorruption de Sint Maarten a par ailleurs procédé à l’arrestation de JHB, 53 ans. Son nom est apparu dans l’enquête dite Larimar portant notamment sur la corruption de politiques, d’autorités publiques et de personnes du secteur de la construction. Son interpellation fait suite à des perquisitions fin janvier dans une entreprise de construction de la partie hollandaise dont il est le directeur.

Les deux suspects, FGR et JBH, ont été placés en détention provisoire mercredi dernier. Ils ont été présentés à un juge d’instruction deux jours plus tard. Le procureur a par la suite prononcé leur maintien en prison durant huit jours. (Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

 2,756 vues totales,  17 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments