Coronavirus: One million masks for the West Indies

4

The amphibious helicopter carrier (PHA) Diksmuide left this Friday, April 3 in the morning from Toulon to reach the West Indies with more than a million masks on board, announced the Ministry of the Armed Forces in a statement.

 

Expected in mid-April in the West Indies, Diksmuide will, as part of the fight against coronavirus, bring “more than a million surgical masks”, “more than 170.000 FFP2 masks” and “several hundred liters of hydro-alcoholic gel”, according to this press release.

In addition to the delivery of this medical freight to help cope with the coronavirus pandemic, Dixmude “could be used (…) to ensure logistics or transport missions in order to guarantee the populations basic needs”, in the part of the military operation Resilience, according to the ministry.

The PHA has four helicopters on board (two Army Puma, one National Gendarmerie Squirrel and one Civil Security EC 145), as well as “two disinfection teams” from the 2nd Dragon Regiment.

After the West Indies, the ship “could then head to Guyana as needed,” said the press release.

A second helicopter carrier, the Mistral, “will reach Mayotte on Saturday April 4”, to provide logistical support to this French territory in the Indian Ocean already affected by the Covid-19 epidemic, according to the ministry's press release.

The ship contains in particular "amphibious means, helicopters and an on-board battle group which will supplement the strength of the detachment of the Foreign Legion of Mayotte, thus reinforcing the military and logistical capacities of this permanent unit", argues the ministry.

loading

About author

0 comments

Post a new comment

Coronavirus : Un million de masques à destination des Antilles

4

Le porte-hélicoptère amphibie (PHA) Dixmude est parti ce vendredi 3 avril au matin de Toulon pour rejoindre les Antilles avec plus d’un million de masques à son bord, a annoncé le ministère des Armées dans un communiqué.

 

Attendu mi-avril dans les Antilles, le Dixmude va, dans le cadre de la lutte contre le coronavirus, y apporter “plus d’un million de masques chirurgicaux”, “plus de 170.000 masques FFP2″ et “plusieurs centaines de litres de gel hydro-alcoolique”, selon ce communiqué.

Outre l’acheminement de ce fret sanitaire pour aider à faire face à la pandémie de coronavirus, le Dixmude “pourra être employé (…) pour assurer des missions logistiques ou de transport afin de garantir aux populations des besoins de première nécessité”, dans le cadre de l’opération militaire Résilience, selon le ministère.

Le PHA compte à son bord quatre hélicoptères (deux Puma de l’armée de Terre, un Ecureuil de la Gendarmerie nationale et un EC 145 de la Sécurité civile), ainsi que “deux équipes de désinfection” du 2e régiment de Dragons.

Après les Antilles, le navire “pourrait par la suite se diriger vers la Guyane en fonction des besoins”, rappelle le communiqué.

Un second porte-hélicoptères, le Mistral, “atteindra Mayotte samedi 4 avril”, pour apporter un soutien logistique à ce territoire français de l’océan Indien déjà touché par l’épidémie de Covid-19, selon le communiqué du ministère.

Le navire contient notamment “des moyens amphibies, des hélicoptères et un groupement tactique embarqué qui viendra compléter les effectifs du détachement de la Légion étrangère de Mayotte, renforçant ainsi les capacités militaires et logistiques de cette unité permanente”, fait valoir le ministère.

blank

4 commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

Laisser un commentaire

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT