Coronavirus: The COM wishes to set up large-scale screening for Covid19 in Saint-Martin!

0

This device is well on the way to application, it would test all people who have developed symptoms and carry out targeted tests on a part of the population.

 

About ten days ago, the Collectivity of Saint-Barthélemy announced that it would release 2 million euros to test its population. The question of whether the COM of Saint-Martin was going to duplicate the process immediately arose. Daniel Gibbs responded to it in his weekly Facebook Live address Monday afternoon in the negative.

"We cannot test the entire population as the COM de Saint-Barth, which has around 10 inhabitants, will do, because we are in a different geopolitical context," he explained. "Testing the population of Saint Martin would only work if the two parts of the island agreed on the same health strategy with closed maritime and air borders," he added, stressing that, unlike Saint- Barth, the French part of Friendly Island is "subject to many flows of people from Anguilla and Sint Maarten".

On the other hand, the president of the COM of Saint-Martin "asked the health decision-makers to put in place alternative solutions to test a maximum of people". He said "working with health professionals, city doctors, laboratories, the management of the hospital in conjunction with national authorities" and announced that he had ordered "a complete large-scale screening device" for the territory.

The COM will acquire "a machine and cassettes", which will make it possible to test "all people with symptoms". "It will also test for antibodies to see who has been infected and healed," added Daniel Gibbs.

Funds have been “secured” by the COM and the European levers activated. However, the president did not specify the cost of the operation. He also did not give a precise date on the delivery of the device, everything will depend on the delivery times imposed by the context.

The will of the COM is to be able to "isolate and care for" people carrying the virus in order to optimize the exit from confinement and revive the economy.

In addition, Daniel Gibbs confirmed to have ordered 24 masks which will be intended for the agents of the priority services of the COM as well as its service providers (collection of household waste, portage of meals at home, etc.).

He also said that he accepted the proposal from a local company to provide the COM with a protective visor. "They will be worn by agents in contact with the public," he said.

Finally, the president of the COM "asked the distributors to make disposable masks accessible and sell at reasonable prices when the requisitions from the State are lifted". A call for expressions of interest will also be launched for the creation by craft dressmakers of the island of washable fabric masks to AFNOR standards for the population.

 5,924 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Coronavirus : La COM souhaite la mise en place d’un dépistage à grande échelle du Covid19 à Saint-Martin !

0

Ce dispositif est en bonne voie d’application, il permettrait de tester toutes les personnes ayant développé des symptômes et d’effectuer des tests ciblés sur une partie de la population.

 

Il y a une dizaine de jours, la Collectivité de Saint-Barthélemy a annoncé qu’elle allait débloquer 2 millions d’euros pour tester sa population. La question de savoir si la COM de Saint-Martin allait dupliquer la démarche s’est immédiatement posée. Daniel Gibbs y a répondu dans son allocution hebdomadaire sur Facebook Live lundi après-midi par la négative.

«Nous ne pouvons pas tester toute la population comme va le faire la COM de Saint-Barth qui compte environ 10 000 habitants, car nous sommes dans un contexte géopolitique différent», a-t-il expliqué. «Tester la population de Saint-Martin ne fonctionnerait que si les deux parties de l’île s’accordaient sur la même stratégie sanitaire avec des frontières maritimes et aériennes fermées», a-t-il ajouté en soulignant que, contrairement à Saint-Barth, la partie française de la Friendly Island est «soumise à de nombreux flux de personnes en provenance d’Anguilla et de Sint Maarten».

En revanche, le président de la COM de Saint-Martin a «demandé aux décideurs de santé de mettre en place des solutions alternatives pour tester un maximum de personnes». Il a confié «travailler avec les professionnels de la santé, médecins de ville, laboratoires, la direction de l’hôpital en liaison avec les instances nationales» et annoncé avoir commandé «un dispositif complet de dépistage à grande échelle» pour le territoire.

La COM va acquérir «une machine et des cassettes», qui permettra de tester «toutes les personnes présentant des symptômes». «Elle permettra aussi de rechercher les anticorps pour voir quelles sont les personnes qui ont été infectées et guéries », a ajouté Daniel Gibbs.

Des fonds ont été «sécurisés» par la COM et les leviers européens actionnés. Toutefois, le président n’a pas précisé le coût de l’opération. Il n’a pas non plus donné de date précise sur la livraison du dispositif, tout dépendra des délais d’acheminement imposés par le contexte.

La volonté de la COM est de pouvoir «isoler et soigner» les personnes porteuses du virus afin d’optimiser la sortie de confinement et relancer l’économie.

Par ailleurs, Daniel Gibbs a confirmé avoir commandé 24 000 masques qui seront destinés aux agents des services prioritaires de la COM ainsi qu’à ses prestataires (ramassages des ordures ménagères, portages de repas à domicile, etc.).

Il a aussi déclaré avoir accepté la proposition d’une entreprise locale de fournir la COM en visière de protection. «Elles seront portées par les agents en contact avec le public», a-t-il précisé.

Enfin, le président de la COM a «demandé aux distributeurs de rendre accessibles et vendre à des prix raisonnables des masques jetables quand les réquisitions de l’Etat seront levées». Un appel à manifestation d’intérêt va ausis être lancé pour la réalisation par des artisans couturiers de l’île de masques en tissu lavables aux normes AFNOR pour la population.

 3,503 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :