COOPERATION: Philippe Gustin calls for a “rebalancing” between Saint-Martin and Sint Maarten

0

Philippe Gustin, interministerial delegate for reconstruction keeps repeating that the reconstruction of the island cannot be done without "cooperation" between the two parties, between the two states. It is "an" imperative necessity "to ensure" a rebalancing ".

Wednesday at a press conference, Philippe Gustin returned to this issue. "We have long had an imbalance between the two parts of the island with a border that does not exist, very strong porosity (...)", he recalls. A "new partnership" between the two states therefore seems "essential". He regularly discusses it with his two counterparts, one based in Sint Maarten, the second based in The Hague.

Precisely, Philippe Gustin insists on the importance for France and the Netherlands to have "a common approach on the aspects of migratory flows". The Netherlands' desire to take over border control competence and impose it on Sint Maarten in return for financial aid is for France "an extremely important signal", comments Philippe Gustin. "As soon as this agreement is accepted and signed, we can strengthen our cooperation on this aspect" of immigration, he said. (More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 1,137 total views, 4 views today

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

COOPERATION : Philippe Gustin plaide pour un «rééquilibrage » entre Saint-Martin et Sint Maarten

0

Philippe Gustin, délégué interministériel pour la reconstruction ne cesse de répéter que la reconstruction de l’île ne peut se faire sans une «coopération» entre les deux parties, entre les deux Etats. C’est «une «nécessité impérieuse» d’assurer «un rééquilibrage».

Mercredi en conférence de presse, Philippe Gustin est revenu sur cette problématique. «Nous avons de longue date un déséquilibre entre les deux parties de l’île avec une frontière qui n’existe pas, une porosité très forte (…) », rappelle-t-il. Un «nouveau partenariat» entre les deux Etats lui paraît donc «capital». Il en discute de manière régulière avec ses deux homologues, l’un basé à Sint Maarten, le second basé à La Haye.

Précisément, Philippe Gustin insiste sur l’importance pour la France et les Pays-Bas d’avoir «une approche commune sur les aspects de flux migratoires». La volonté des Pays Bas de vouloir reprendre la compétence contrôle aux frontières et de l’imposer à Sint Maarten en contre partie d’une aide financière, est pour la France «un signal extrêmement important», commente Philippe Gustin. «Dès que cet accord sera accepté et signé, nous pourrons renforcer notre coopération sur cet aspect» de l’immigration, déclare-t-il. (Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

 6,245 vues totales

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :