Cooperation / Oyster Pond: the border should be demarcated this year

0

“Pending the finalization of the territorial negotiations between France and the Kingdom of the Netherlands which will be held at the end of 2018, the parties note the interest of the rapid development of an approved framework, applicable in a spirit of courtesy. reciprocal, to the management of any space over which there is a dispute of sovereignty. This is an excerpt from the “joint declaration” signed on June 28, 2018 by the official representatives at the time of France, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Collectivity of Saint-Martin and the government of Sint Maarten. 

While most of the statement focused on strengthening cooperation between the two parts of the island in various fields, a paragraph at the end of the document alluded to the border issue at Oyster Pond.

Four and a half years later, the situation has not changed: the parties must always show courtesy and territorial negotiations have not taken place. We still do not know where the border passes.

However, the prefect of Saint-Martin recently announced that the negotiations between France and the Netherlands had resumed at the end of last year and that they were going well... He specified that they related to the delimitation of the border and not on the demarcation (consolidation of the delimitation) which will be the next step. The representative of the State refused to deliver the details of the exchanges between the countries. “The dynamics are on the right track,” he simply commented.

According to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of ​​1982, known as the Montego Bay Convention, the border in a bay shared between two States must pass in the middle: the points of its course must be "equidistant from the points closest to the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea of ​​each of the two States is measured”.

But it remains to know where are the points of origin, constituted by the base line. In October 2017, France responded to this by publishing a decree in which it indicates the geographical coordinates of the baselines from which the territorial sea adjacent to the islands of the French West Indies, including Saint-Martin, is measured (points 1 and 2 on the card for Oyster Pond*).

Current discussions between the parties relate to these points from which a route will be suggested; a project should be validated by the end of the year, confided the prefect. The cartographic representation of delimitation is carried out by the Hydrographic and Oceanographic Service of the Navy (SHOM). Then, once the maritime spaces of France and the Netherlands in this zone at Oyster Pond have been delimited, they will have to  the subject of an advertisement to the General Secretariat of the United Nations.

* Babit Point: 18-03-14 N / 063-00-37 W. Low water mark (including permanent port facilities). Point on the low-water line of the Etang aux Huîtres where the areas of sovereignty of France and the Netherlands separate: 18-03-22 N / 063-01-09 W.  

(soualigapost.com)

 3,362 total views, 7 views today

source:

Soualiga Post: http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

About author

No comments

Coopération / Oyster Pond : la frontière devrait être délimitée cette année

0

«Dans l’attente de la finalisation des négociations territoriales entre la France et le Royaume des Pays-Bas qui se tiendront fin 2018, les parties relèvent l’intérêt de l’élaboration rapide d’un cadre agréé, applicable dans un esprit de courtoisie réciproque, à la gestion de tout espace sur lequel existe un différend de souveraineté.» Ceci est un extrait de la «déclaration commune» signée le 28 juin 2018 par les représentants officiels à l’époque de la France, du Royaume des Pays-Bas, de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin et du gouvernement de Sint Maarten. 

Si l’essentiel de la déclaration portait sur le renforcement de la coopération entre les deux parties de l’île dans divers domaines, un paragraphe en fin de document faisait allusion au problème de la frontière à Oyster Pond.

Quatre ans et demi plus tard, la situation n’a pas changé : les parties doivent toujours faire preuve de courtoisie et les négociations territoriales n’ont pas eu lieu. On ne sait toujours pas où passe la frontière.

Cependant, le préfet de Saint-Martin a récemment annoncé que les négociations entre la France et les Pays-Bas avaient repris en fin d’année dernière et qu’elles se passaient bien… Il a précisé qu’elles portaient sur la délimitation de la frontière et non sur la démarcation (concrétisation de la délimitation) qui sera l’étape suivante. Le représentant de l’Etat a refusé de livrer les détails des échanges entre les pays. «La dynamique est en bonne voie», s’est-il contenté de commenter.

Selon la convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer de 1982 dite convention de Montego Bay, la frontière dans une baie partagée entre deux Etats, doit passer au milieu : les points de son tracé doivent être «équidistants des points les plus proches des lignes de base à partir desquelles est mesurée la largeur de la mer territoriale de chacun des deux Etats».

Mais reste à savoir où se trouvent les points d’origine, constitués par la ligne de base. En octobre 2017, la France y a répondu en publiant un décret dans lequel elle indique les coordonnées géographiques des lignes de base à partir desquelles est mesurée la mer territoriale adjacente aux îles des Antilles française, Saint-Martin compris (points 1 et 2 sur la carte pour ce qui concerne Oyster Pond*).

Les discussions actuelles entre les parties portent sur ces points à partir desquels un tracé sera suggéré ; un projet devrait être validé d’ici la fin de l’année a confié le préfet. La représentation cartographique de délimitation est effectuée par le Service hydrographique et océanographique de la marine (SHOM). Puis, une fois les espaces maritimes de la France et des Pays-Bas dans cette zone à Oyster Pond délimités, ils devront faire  l’objet d’une publicité auprès du secrétariat général des Nations unies.

* Babit Point : 18-03-14 N / 063-00-37 W. Laisse de basse mer (incluant les installations portuaires permanentes). Point de la laisse de basse mer de l’Etang aux Huîtres où se séparent les zones de souveraineté de la France et des Pays-Bas : 18-03-22 N / 063-01-09 W.  

(soualigapost.com)

 2,520 vues totales,  4 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Soualiga Post : http://www.soualigapost.com/fr

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

DAUPHIN TELECOM S’EXPORTE BIEN

Vendredi dernier le Conseil Régional de la Guadeloupe a voté à l’unanimité l’attribution d’une délégation de service public (DSP), pour le déploiement de la fibre ...
English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT