COMMEMORATION / 175th anniversary of the Abolition of slavery: a major cultural show “Sailing to Freedom” organized in Friar's Bay on May 28!

0

The Collectivity of Saint-Martin and its Culture department are pleased to invite you to the cultural performance “Sailing to Freedom”, which will be held on Sunday May 28, 2023 at 18 p.m., on Friars’Bay beach.

On May 27, 1848, France abolished slavery after many years of discussions and waiting. In Saint-Martin, the official abolition took place a day later, on May 28, 1848. A national decree attests to this historical truth. The show "Sailing to Freedom" recounts the historical period when slaves decided to flee by sea to Anguille, 15 years before French abolition. The island of Anguille having abolished slavery in 1833, many slaves from both parts of the island of Saint-Martin chose to flee to Liberty by crossing the channel of Anguille. The show retraces this period and the beginning of the emancipation of the slaves present on our island. It will be played in the original language, Saint-Martin English.

The Collectivity of Saint-Martin carries out the official commemoration each year on May 28, at the Agrément roundabout. This ceremony in the presence of the officials of the territory will take place from 16:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m. and will include a formal program consisting of official speeches (president and prefect) and a wreath laying near the Lady Liberty statue, symbol of freedom. The ceremony will be followed by the cultural show which will begin at 18:00 p.m. on Friar's Bay beach (at the end of the beach, Friar's Bay Beach Café side). The “Sailing to Freedom” show is open to the general public (free), it will be introduced by the president of the Culture Commission, the territorial councilor Valérie Damaseau, followed by the artistic performance. The Community is waiting for you!

The Collectivity will provide free round-trip shuttles, between the parking lot of the sports center of La Savane and the beach of Friar's Bay, in order to allow spectators to easily access the site.

 2,681 total views

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

COMMEMORATION / 175ème anniversaire de l’Abolition de l’esclavage : un grand spectacle culturel « Sailing to Freedom » organisé à Friar’s Bay le 28 mai !

0

La Collectivité de Saint-Martin et son service Culture ont le plaisir de vous convier à la représentation culturelle « Sailing to Freedom », qui se tiendra le dimanche 28 mai 2023 à 18 heures, sur la plage de Friars’Bay.

Le 27 mai 1848, la France abolit l’esclavage après de nombreuses années de discussions et d’attente. A Saint-Martin, l’abolition officielle a eu lieu un jour plus tard, le 28 mai 1848. Un décret national atteste cette vérité historique. Le spectacle « Sailing to Freedom » raconte la période historique lors de laquelle les esclaves ont décidé de prendre la fuite par la mer vers Anguille, 15 ans avant l’abolition française. L’île d’Anguille ayant aboli l’esclavage en 1833, de nombreux esclaves des deux parties de l’île de Saint-Martin ont choisi de fuir vers la Liberté en traversant le chenal d’Anguille. Le spectacle retrace cette période et le début de l’émancipation des esclaves présents sur notre île. Il sera joué dans la langue d’origine, l’anglais saint-martinois.

La Collectivité de Saint-Martin procède chaque année à la commémoration officielle le 28 mai, au rond-point d’Agrément. Cette cérémonie en présence des officiels du territoire se déroulera de 16h30 à 17h30 et comprendra un programme protocolaire composé des discours officiels (président et préfet) et d’un dépôt de gerbes près de la statue Lady Liberty, symbole de liberté. La cérémonie sera suivie du spectacle culturel qui débutera à 18h00 sur la plage de Friar’s Bay (au bout de la plage, côté Friar’s Bay Beach Café). Le spectacle « Sailing to Freedom » est ouvert à tout public (gratuit), il sera introduit par la présidente de la commission de Culture, la conseillère territoriale Valérie Damaseau, suivie de la prestation artistique. La Collectivité vous attend nombreux !

La Collectivité mettra à disposition des navettes aller-retour gratuites, entre le parking du plateau sportif de La Savane et la plage de Friar’s Bay, afin de permettre aux spectateurs d’accéder facilement au site

 3,357 vues totales

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

About author

No comments

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :