ASSOCIATION: Four young people fly to the metropolis with Madtwoz family

0

Several young people from the Sandy Ground district will take part in a two-week trip to metropolitan France. 

Jérémy Watts, from the Madtwoz Family association, takes Wilson, 9 years old, Ledwin, 10 years old, Lichanel 11 years old and Britalia, 13 years old, for a stay in Marseille, Paris and icing on the cake: Disneyland Paris. “This action is financed by Secours Populaire,” explains Jérémy Watts. "We are going to participate in the 30th anniversary of Copains du monde". This movement aims to raise awareness of children's rights. Each year, it brings together children from all over the world. Our four young people will be the ambassadors of Saint-Martin. 

The children also held several cake sales. “It's a very good training for them because during the stay in mainland France, we will also have to set up a collection for the benefit of a good cause. So I teach them to express themselves, to approach people without being shy, but also to manage a small business”. 

Why them? “I think they deserve it. They don't always have a child's life… Some work during the holidays to make some pocket money. Others have no activity other than riding their bikes or sitting in front of their homes. With this trip, I want to show them how other children have fun”. 

Jérémy also sees in the longer term and he has ambition for his protégés. “If they want to go and study in mainland France later, they will already have this experience. It shows them that it is possible. And I hope they will make friends with the other children present. And even if the association has experienced difficulties from which it is struggling to recover, Jérémy Watts does not give up to make Sandy Ground a better place for the young people who grow up there. “With this kind of trip, we have created a bridge between the neighborhood and the rest of the world”. 

The association always has plenty of great projects. On All Saints' Day, Jérémy wants to organize "The Forgotten Holidays". The idea is to organize activities over several days for children who have not had the chance to go on vacation during the summer. “I am looking for people of good will to help us or to suggest activities”. The goal is to make it an annual event. The delegation takes off this Friday, August 5th. We wish them bon voyage and an excellent birthday to Wilson, who will celebrate his nineth birthday in Paris. _pc

 1,014 total views, 6 views today

source:

Faxinfo: https://www.faxinfo.fr/

No comments

Faxinfo declines all responsibility for the content published and is not intended to respond.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT

ASSOCIATION : Quatre jeune s’envolent pour la métropole avec Madtwoz family

0

Plusieurs jeunes issus du quartier de Sandy Ground vont participer à un voyage de deux semaines en métropole. 

Jérémy Watts, de l’association Madtwoz Family, embarque Wilson, 9 ans, Ledwin, 10 ans, Lichanel 11 ans et Britalia, 13 ans, pour un séjour à Marseille, Paris et cerise sur le gâteau : Disneyland Paris. «Cette action est financée par le Secours Populaire», explique Jérémy Watts. «Nous allons participer aux 30 ans de Copains du monde». Ce mouvement vise à sensibiliser aux droits des enfants. Chaque année, il permet de rassembler des enfants venus des quatre coins du monde. Nos quatre jeunes seront les ambassadeurs de Saint-Martin. 

Les enfants ont également réalisé plusieurs ventes de gâteaux. «C’est un très bon entraînement pour eux car au cours du séjour en métropole, nous devrons également mettre en place une collecte au profit d’une bonne cause. Je leur apprends donc à s’exprimer, à aller vers les gens sans être timide mais aussi à gérer un petit commerce». 

Pourquoi eux ? «J’estime qu’ils le méritent. Ils n’ont pas toujours une vie d’enfant… Certains travaillent pendant les vacances pour se faire un peu d’argent de poche. D’autres n’ont pas d’activité à part faire du vélo ou s’asseoir devant chez eux. Avec ce voyage, je veux leur montrer comment les autres enfants s’amusent». 

Jérémy voit aussi à plus long terme et il a de l’ambition pour ses protégés. «S’ils veulent partir faire des études en métropole plus tard, ils auront déjà cette expérience. Ça leur montre que c’est possible. Et j’espère qu’ils noueront des amitiés avec les autres enfants présents». Et même si l’association a connu des difficultés dont elle a du mal à se relever, Jérémy Watts ne baisse pas les bras pour faire de Sandy Ground un endroit meilleur pour les jeunes qui y grandissent. «Avec ce genre de voyage, on a créé un pont entre le quartier et le reste du monde». 

L’association a toujours plein de beaux projets. À la Toussaint, Jérémy veut organiser «Les oubliés des vacances». L’idée est d’organiser sur plusieurs jours des activités à destination des enfants qui n’ont pas eu la chance de partir en vacances pendant l’été. «Je cherche des bonnes volontés pour nous aider ou proposer des activités». L’objectif est d’en faire un rendez-vous annuel. La délégation décolle ce vendredi 5 août. On leur souhaite bon voyage et un excellent anniversaire à Wilson, qui soufflera ses neuf bougies à Paris. _Pc

 3 vues totales,  3 vues aujourd'hui

Source :

Faxinfo : https://www.faxinfo.fr/

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT