Les Fruits de Mer Association: Meeting on Sunday for the Endemic Animals Festival "Facts Here" and More!

0

The Endemic Animal Festival is a free event that celebrates animals found only on Saint Martin and only in our region.

It will take place this Sunday, May 20 from 9 a.m. to noon at the Amuseum Naturalis at The Old House (Quartier d'Orléans). Residents and visitors of all ages are encouraged to come and learn more about these unique animals and much more!

"This year's festival theme is" Made Here, "and we are delighted to have so many local festival experts to share their knowledge and passion with the public," said Jenn Yerkes, President of the organizing association Les Fruits de Mer. “Amuseum Naturalis will be a place where the people of the island can share their stories. We are starting this now, working with experts here to show what's unique on the island in several different areas. ”

Author and editor Lasana M. Sekou contributed selections of poetry and prose linked to the local nature that will be exhibited. Tadzio Bervoets of St. Maarten Nature Foundation will highlight the importance of sharks for the island. Christophe Henocq will present how the historic “slave walls” today create a special habitat for plants and animals.

Members of the Anguilla National Trust will share their work to save the rare iguanas that once lived in St. Martin. EPIC members will explain how native plants and trees make the island stronger. Bird specialist Binkie van Es will direct BirdSleuth Caribbean activities for children and adults.

The festival will offer an Endemic Animal Discovery Station where festival-goers can see some of the animals that are found only here. Participants can learn more about Amuseum Naturalis and other projects underway in the museum grounds. These projects include the community gardens of Plantilles and the studio of Seegrape, where the group will record the Saint-Martinois telling their stories in their own words. Fun artistic activities related to wildlife are planned for children and adults.

loading

About author

No comments

Association Les Fruits de Mer : RDV dimanche pour le Festival des Animaux Endémiques «Faits Ici» et Plus !

0

L’Endemic Animal Festival (le Festival des Animaux Endémiques) est un évènement gratuit qui célèbre les animaux trouvés uniquement sur Saint-Martin et seulement dans notre région.

Il aura lieu ce dimanche 20 mai de 9h à midi à l’Amuseum Naturalis à The Old House (Quartier d’Orléans). Les résidents et les visiteurs de tous âges sont encouragés à venir et à en apprendre davantage sur ces animaux uniques et bien plus encore!

«Le thème du festival de cette année est « Fait Ici », et nous sommes ravis d’avoir autant d’experts locaux au festival pour partager leurs connaissances et leur passion avec le public,» a expliqué Jenn Yerkes, la Présidente de l’association organisatrice Les Fruits de Mer. «Amuseum Naturalis sera un lieu où les gens de l’île pourront partager leurs histoires. Nous commençons cela maintenant, en travaillant avec des experts ici pour montrer ce qui est unique sur l’île dans plusieurs domaines différents.»

L’auteur et éditeur Lasana M. Sekou a contribué des sélections de poésie et de prose liées à la nature locale qui seront exposées. Tadzio Bervoets de St. Maarten Nature Foundation soulignera l’importance des requins pour l’île. Christophe Henocq présentera comment les «slave walls» («murs d’esclaves») historiques créent aujourd’hui un habitat spécial pour les plantes et les animaux.

Les membres de l’Anguilla National Trust partageront leur travail pour sauver les iguanes rares qui vivaient autrefois à St. Martin. Les membres de l’EPIC expliqueront comment les plantes et les arbres indigènes rendent l’île plus forte. Le spécialiste en oiseaux Binkie van Es dirigera les activités de BirdSleuth Caraïbes pour les enfants et les adultes.

Le festival proposera une Station de Découverte des Animaux Endémiques où les festivaliers peuvent voir certains des animaux qui se trouvent seulement ici. Les participants peuvent en apprendre davantage sur Amuseum Naturalis et d’autres projets en cours sur le terrain du musée. Ces projets comprennent les jardins communautaires de Plantilles et le studio de Seegrape, où le groupe enregistrera les Saint-Martinois racontant leurs histoires dans leurs propres mots. Des activités artistiques amusantes liées à la faune sont prévues pour les enfants et les adultes.

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT