TERRITORIAL ARCHIVES

0

Like the Media Library, the Territorial Archives are experiencing a malfunction of the air conditioning system. The interventions carried out have shown the need to replace a sensitive and highly technical defective part which is currently being manufactured. The general air conditioning system has, moreover, shown regular failures; to find lasting solutions to these dysfunctions, the local authority decided to carry out a complete audit of the air conditioning system and the building's electrical system.

Modification of the mediation activities of the Territorial Archives

Until further notice, the conditions not being met for a good reception of users during conferences or workshops with schoolchildren, these activities are postponed until the air conditioning is restored.

The Heritage Days (September 17 and 18, 2016) at the Territorial Archives where guided tours are offered to visit the archive stores and show exceptional documents entered during the year, are thus postponed and an event of this type will be organized later .

Opening of the research room: no change

The research room of the Territorial Archives remains open to the public at its usual times, from Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 13 p.m.

The impact of the lack of air conditioning on the preservation of the preserved archives lies in the access and communication of certain documents. Indeed, in order to preserve the archives of degradations induced by a change of climate in the stores (relative humidity and temperature), access to the stores is prohibited to avoid sudden changes in storage conditions and contain the rise in temperatures and relative humidity in the air, factors for the development of mold, the consequences of which are irreversible on the legibility of the archives and the maintenance of the media. Until further notice, only the civil status registers are accessible for communication. Genealogical research and birth certificates, for example, can thus be consulted in the research room of the Territorial Archives.

NB : It should be noted that there is no ideal temperature to respect. If standards have been enacted in recent years, it should also be noted that these standards are benchmarks with which it is necessary to compose, in particular according to the chemical analysis of the papers, inks, external climate, pre-existing degradations of the documents. , etc. These standards also apply to the northern European climate and hardly to the Caribbean climate. The relative humidity and the ideal storage temperature are therefore assessed with real expertise and by archival professionals according to different criteria and by measuring the interactions between them (chemical in particular).

 6,056 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

ARCHIVES TERRITORIALES

0

Comme la Médiathèque, les Archives territoriales connaissent un défaut de fonctionnement du système de climatisation. Les interventions réalisées ont montré la nécessité du remplacement d’une pièce défectueuse sensible et de haute technicité qui est actuellement en cours de fabrication. Le système général de climatisation a, par ailleurs, montré des défaillances régulières ; pour trouver des solutions pérennes à ces dysfonctionnements, la collectivité a décidé d’effectuer un audit complet du système de climatisation et du système électrique du bâtiment.

Modification des activités de médiation des Archives territoriales

Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, les conditions n’étant pas remplies pour un bon accueil des usagers lors des conférences ou des ateliers avec les scolaires, ces activités sont différées jusqu’au rétablissement de la climatisation.

Les Journées du patrimoine (17 et 18 septembre 2016) aux Archives territoriales où des visites guidées sont proposées pour visiter les magasins d’archives et montrer des documents exceptionnels entrés dans l’année, sont ainsi différées et un évènement de ce type sera organisé ultérieurement.

Ouverture de la salle de recherche : pas de changement

La salle de recherche des Archives territoriales demeure ouverte au public à ses horaires habituels, soit du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 13h.

L’impact du défaut de climatisation sur la préservation des archives conservées réside dans l’accès et la communication de certains documents. En effet, afin de préserver les archives des dégradations induites par un changement de climat dans les magasins (humidité relative et température), l’accès aux magasins est interdit pour éviter des changements brusques de conditions de conservation et contenir la montée des températures et de l’humidité relative dans l’air, facteurs de développement de moisissures dont les conséquences sont irrémédiables sur la lisibilité des archives et la tenue des supports. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, seuls les registres d’Etat Civil sont accessibles à la communication. Les recherches généalogiques et les actes de naissance, par exemple, peuvent ainsi être consultés en salle de recherche des Archives territoriales.

NB : Il est à noter qu’il n’y a pas de température idéale à respecter. Si des normes ont été édictées ces dernières années, il est également à retenir que ces normes sont des référentiels avec lesquels il faut composer, notamment en fonction de l’analyse chimique des papiers, des encres, du climat extérieur, des dégradations préexistantes des documents, etc. Ces normes s’appliquent d’ailleurs au climat nord européen et difficilement au climat antillais. L’humidité relative et la température idéale de conservation s’apprécient donc avec une réelle expertise et par des professionnels des archives en fonction de différents critères et en mesurant les interactions entre eux (chimiques notamment).

 1,278 vues totales,  6 vues aujourd'hui

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT