ANIMALS / Soualiga Animal Lovers

0

Soualiga Animal Lovers is the name of their association which has just seen the light of day, barely a few months on paper but you can imagine that the adventure begins long before. Quickly after Irma, it became clear to them that the number of wandering animals increased in line with the increasing number of abandonments. The thing is that they don't know each other yet at that time! They are each in a corner of the island and take care as they can to try to find solutions while communicating with the same person in Metropolitan France. Jessica is the fourth name in this story. Jessica knows the island well, she lived there, she loves it and she too is touched by the animal cause.

“I was very worried to see a new dog every day at Concordia, after Irma. »Anita

In the emergency, as we have all seen, many actions were carried out to help thanks to the associations and veterinarians of the neighboring islands, of the Metropolis, of the United States, of Canada…. In short, the emergency passed, the situation was no less worrying and correspondence continued between Jessica and our three acolytes. As you can see, Jessica gives the impetus for the meeting, the one that will give the "top" start of the Soualiga Animal Lovers adventure. Once the meeting is decided, they suit all the people they know who are active in the field. All these good wishes come together at La Plantation which served as their HQ for the first meetings, a great gift to start the adventure. For Stéphanie, this regrouping was essential because "there were a lot of scattered initiatives", it was necessary to federate to become more effective.

The work begins!

From there, the association begins to organize and especially takes a legal reality. It is decided that the association will take care of the sterilization of stray cats. As we know, sterilization is one of the keys to solving the problem of wandering. First, it decreases the number of births, CQFD! But it is also the best way to limit the fights during which animals contaminate each other. It also makes it possible to avoid running away from heat which is often the cause of accidents. In summary, sterilization is essential to control animal populations. As everyone knows, there is work to be done in Saint-Martin but the "animal angels" who constitute the association put all their skills at the service of the cause and organize the work rationally. Loving animals is not enough to help them; you also need to be able to take the necessary steps to act effectively.

"Who takes care of stray cats, how many are there, how many need to be sterilized?" "

The census is where the team decides to start their work and it is not an easy task. It must be understood that the association starts, there are only volunteers. So you have to work on your free time, make phone calls, identify the sites concerned and the people hired, move around, check, validate… It is a real work of ants, tedious and thankless but so necessary that one does not would know how to do without it. At present, their census work is not finished but a volunteer has already managed to cover a certain number of neighborhoods. On this basis, the association team has drawn up a planning by sector and by district. The aim of this quasi-martial organization is to be able to act efficiently, it must be possible to use human and financial resources effectively, no question of squandering. You may have understood, between the lines, that Soualiga Animal Lovers has some good managers! At present, the structure has the budget necessary to finance 22 sterilizations by prioritizing the females. You should also know that part of their budget is reserved for rescues. And yes, even if the object of the association concerns the sterilization of stray cats, it is impossible to remain unmoved in an emergency situation.

However, even if these "animal angels" will never drop an suffering animal, it seems preferable to help them carry out their primary mission at the risk of seeing this beautiful energy wither away under the far too heavy load of animal cause as a whole.

A great need for support

Like the Angel Pet Sitter association, of which we have already drawn a portrait, Soualiga Animal Lovers needs support. We are facing a problem that is growing day by day and that will end up causing great damage if no one takes care of it. These associations offer a service of general interest and need our support. If you are sensitive to the cause because you love animals or because you see the health problem emerging, you can support them financially. Soualiga Animal Lovers has created a leetchi fund. You can also contact them via their facebook page. We remind you that donations to associations are deductible from your taxes up to 60%, understandably ... _NB

 

 7,998 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

ANIMAUX / Soualiga Animal Lovers

0

blank

Soualiga Animal Lovers c’est le nom de leur association qui vient tout juste de voir le jour, à peine quelques mois sur le papier mais vous vous doutez bien que l’aventure commence bien avant. Rapidement après Irma, il leur apparaît clairement que le nombre d’animaux en errance augmente en lien avec les abandons qui se multiplient. Le truc c’est qu’elles ne se connaissent pas encore à ce moment-là ! Elles se trouvent chacune dans un coin de l’île et s’occupent comme elles peuvent à essayer de trouver des solutions tout en communiquant avec une même personne en Métropole. Jessica, c’est le quatrième prénom de cette histoire. Jessica connait bien l’île, elle y a vécut, elle l’aime et elle aussi, elle est touchée par la cause animale.

« J’étais très inquiète de voir tous les jours un nouveau chien à Concordia, après Irma. » Anita

Dans l’urgence, nous l’avons tous vu, beaucoup d’actions ont été menées pour aider grâce  aux associations et vétérinaires des îles voisines, de la Métropole, des Etats-Unis, du Canada…. Bref, l’urgence passée, la situation n’en était pas moins inquiétante et la correspondance continuait entre Jessica et nos trois acolytes. Vous l’avez compris, Jessica donne l’impulsion pour la rencontre, celle qui va donner le « top » départ de l’aventure Soualiga Animal Lovers.  Une fois la rencontre décidée, elles convient toutes les personnes qu’elles connaissent qui s’activent dans le domaine. Toutes ces belles volontés se réunissent à La Plantation qui leur a servi de QG pour les premières rencontres, un beau cadeau pour démarrer l’aventure. Pour Stéphanie, ce regroupement était essentiel parce qu’ «il y avait beaucoup d’initiatives éparses », il fallait fédérer pour devenir plus efficace.

Le travail commence !

A partir de là, l’association commence à s’organiser et surtout prend une réalité juridique. Il est décidé que l’association s’occupera de la stérilisation des chats errants. Comme on le sait, la stérilisation est une des clés pour régler le problème de l’errance. D’abord, elle diminue le nombre de naissances, CQFD! Mais c’est aussi le meilleur moyen de limiter les bagarres à l’occasion desquelles les animaux se contaminent entre eux. Ca permet également d’éviter les fugues dues aux chaleurs qui sont souvent cause d’accident. En résumé, la stérilisation est essentielle au contrôle des populations animales. Comme chacun le sait, il y a du pain sur la planche à Saint-Martin mais les « animal angels » qui constituent l’association mettent toutes leurs compétences au service de la cause et organisent le travail rationnellement. Aimer les animaux ne suffit pas pour les aider, il faut aussi être capable de prendre le recul nécessaire pour agir efficacement.

« Qui s’occupe des chats errants, combien il y en a, combien doivent être stérilisés ? »

Le recensement, c’est par là que l’équipe décide de commencer son travail et ce n’est pas une mince affaire. Il faut bien comprendre que l’association démarre, il n’y a que des bénévoles. Il faut donc travailler sur son temps libre, passer des coups de fil, repérer les sites concernés et les personnes engagées, se déplacer, vérifier, valider… C’est un véritable travail de fourmis, fastidieux et ingrat mais tellement nécessaire qu’on ne saurait comment s’en passer. A l’heure actuelle, leur travail de recensement n’est pas terminé mais une bénévole a d’ores et déjà réussi à couvrir un certain nombre de quartiers. Sur cette base, l’équipe de l’association a élaboré un planning par secteur et par quartier. Le but de cette organisation quasi martiale est de pouvoir agir avec efficience, il faut pouvoir utiliser les moyens humains et financiers efficacement, pas question de dilapider. Vous aurez peut-être compris, entre les lignes, que Soualiga Animal Lovers compte quelques bons gestionnaires ! A l’heure actuelle, la structure a le budget nécessaire pour financer 22 stérilisations en priorisant les femelles. Il faut savoir également qu’une partie de leur budget est réservé aux sauvetages. Et oui, même si l’objet de l’association concernent la stérilisation des chats errants, impossible de rester de marbre devant une situation d’urgence.

Cependant et même si ces «animal angels» ne laisseront jamais tomber un animal en souffrance, il semble préférable de les aider à mener à bien leur mission première au risque de voir cette belle énergie s’étioler sous la charge bien trop lourde que représente la cause animale dans son ensemble.

Un grand besoin de soutien

Comme l’association Angel Pet Sitter dont nous avons déjà fait le portrait, Soualiga Animal Lovers a besoin de soutien. Nous sommes face à un problème qui grandit  de jour en jour et qui finira par occasionner de gros dégâts si personne ne le prend en charge. Ces associations offrent un service d’intérêt général et ont besoin de notre soutien. Si vous êtes sensibles à la cause parce que vous aimez les animaux ou parce que vous voyez poindre le problème sanitaire, vous pouvez les soutenir financièrement. Soualiga Animal Lovers a créé une cagnotte leetchi. Vous pouvez également les contacter via leur page facebook. Nous vous rappelons que les dons aux associations sont déductibles de vos impôts à hauteur de 60%, à bon entendeur… _NB

 

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT