Agriculture: The SXM Green Soldiers on a crusade for local and vertical agriculture

0

"Cultivate local, cultivate vertical". This is the slogan of SXM Green Soldiers, the company that Rémy Gester and Nicolas Esparon are creating.

The two partners have planned to produce 1000 salads per week by January, in hydroponics, a horticultural technique that allows for an above-ground cultivation.

Their system, imported from the United States and exhibited at Howell Center since the beginning of August, consists of towers formed by a superposition of food-grade plastic bins, irrigated from above on the principle of vertical runoff. The plants, mainly herbs, salads and Chinese cabbage, are rooted in a substrate composed of 80% coconut fibers and 20% perlite (siliceous sand of volcanic origin). “We water the plants three times a day for five minutes with a solution made from mineral nutrients, diluted in water (300mL per 1000 liters). This tower system allows us to consume 80% less water than traditional farming ”explains Rémy Gester.

Ultimately, to be completely autonomous, they would like to install solar panels to power the pumps. And ideally, manage to use seawater, as suggested by Sébastien Meygret, who won the innovation competition of Initiatives Saint-Martin Active for his conch cultured pearl project.

Beyond their production, and the sale of their system to individuals and professionals, the SXM Green Soldiers seek to create a movement by showing that it is possible to cultivate at home without using too much water, and on a small landless space like a balcony. They would also like to unite local initiatives that go in the same direction, while being aware that "there will never be enough producers to feed all of Saint Martin". If they want to develop local agriculture and, a Once their 100 towers pilot project has proven its worth, installing one in each district, they are not at war with mass retailers. “After Irma, without mass distribution, we would all be dead. Here, without it, we don't eat, ”admits Rémy Gester.

(More details on www.soualigapost.com)

 4,649 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Agriculture : Les SXM Green Soldiers en croisade pour  une agriculture locale et verticale

0
blank

« Cultivez local, cultivez vertical ». Tel est le slogan de SXM Green Soldiers, l’entreprise que sont en train de créer Rémy Gester et Nicolas Esparon.

Les deux associés ont prévu de produire 1000 salades par semaine d’ici janvier, en hydroponie, une technique horticole qui permet de procéder à une culture hors-sol.

Leur système, importé des Etats-Unis et exposé à Howell Center depuis début août, consiste en des tours formées par une superposition de bacs en plastique alimentaire, irriguées par le haut sur le principe du ruissellement vertical. Les plantes, principalement des aromates, des salades et des choux chinois, sont enracinées dans un substrat composé à 80% de fibres de coco et 20% de perlite (sable siliceux d’origine volcanique). « Nous arrosons les plantes trois fois par jour pendant cinq minutes avec un solution faite de nutriments minéraux, dilués dans l’eau (300mL pour 1000 litres). Ce système de tours nous permet de consommer 80 % mois d’eau que l’agriculture traditionnelle » explique Rémy Gester.

A terme, pour arriver à être complètement autonomes, ils aimeraient installer des panneaux solaires pour alimenter les pompes. Et dans l’idéal, arriver à utiliser l’eau de mer, comme leur a suggéré Sébastien Meygret, qui a remporté le concours de l’innovation d’Initiatives Saint-Martin Active pour son projet de perles de culture de lambis.

Au-delà de leur production, et de la vente de leur système aux particuliers comme aux professionnels, les SXM Green Soldiers cherchent à créer un mouvement en montrant qu’il est possible de cultiver chez soi sans trop utiliser d’eau, et sur un petit espace sans terre comme un balcon. Ils aimeraient aussi fédérer les initiatives locales qui vont dans le même sens, tout en ayant conscience qu’ « il n’y aura jamais assez de producteurs pour nourrir tout Saint-Martin».S’ils veulent développer l’agriculture locale et, une fois que leur projet pilote des 100 tours aura fait ses preuves, en installer un dans chaque quartier, ils ne sont pas pour autant en guerre contre la grande distribution. « Après Irma, sans la grande distribution, nous serions tous morts. Ici, sans elle, on ne mange pas» reconnaît Rémy Gester.

(Plus de détails sur www.soualigapost.com)

blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT