Juliana Airport: Phase 2 of reconstruction is expected to start at the end of the month

0

Juliana Airport is preparing to launch a $ 107 million renovation program, management announces. And that "despite the crisis due to covid-19".

Phase 2 of the reconstruction of the terminal damaged by the passage of Irma, is to begin this month; it consists of the elimination of mold, decontamination, dismantling of the structure and the evacuation of waste. This work should start at the end of September and end in January. Reconstruction will then begin in April 2021; acceptance of the new terminal is scheduled for February 2023.

Management indicates that it has completed the financial package for the site and is in the process of finalizing the calls for tenders in order to be able to sign the contracts and start the work by the end of the month. “Since there is a shortage of work due to covid-19, we hope it works in our favor, allowing more contractors to be readily available for the renovation project,” she says.

“SXM Airport will be one of the largest and most modern terminals in the region, with a new executive lounge, state-of-the-art baggage systems, hurricane doors, escalators additional, improved public facilities and new technologies to improve security control, ”comments the management. Improvements will also be made in the checked baggage and check-in areas as well as in the departure hall with passenger boarding bridges (PBB).

 7,834 total views

Article sponsored by:


About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page:

Aéroport Juliana : La phase 2 de reconstruction devrait débuter à la fin du mois

0
blank

blankL’aéroport Juliana se prépare à lancer un programme de rénovation d’un montant de 107 millions de dollars, annonce la direction. Et cela «malgré la crise due au covid-19 ».

La phase 2 de reconstruction du terminal endommagé par le passage d’Irma, doit commencer ce mois-ci ; elle consiste en l’élimination des moisissures, la décontamination, le démantèlement de la structure et l’évacuation des déchets. Ces travaux devraient débuter fin septembre et se terminer en janvier prochain. Commencera ensuite la reconstruction en avril 2021 ; la réception du nouveau terminal est prévue en février 2023.

La direction indique avoir bouclé le montage financier du chantier et est en train de finaliser les appels d’offres pour pouvoir signer les contrats et lancer le travaux d’ici la fin du mois. «Comme il y a une pénurie de travail due au covid-19, nous espérons que cela fonctionne en notre faveur, permettant à plus d’entrepreneurs d’être facilement disponibles pour le projet de rénovation », confie-t-elle.

«L’aéroport SXM sera l’un des terminaux les plus grands et les plus modernes de la région, avec un nouveau salon (Executive lounge), des systèmes de bagages à la pointe de la technologie, des portes anti-ouragans, des escalators supplémentaires, des équipements publics améliorés et de nouvelles technologies pour améliorer le contrôle de la sécurité», commente la direction. Des améliorations seront aussi portées dans les zones de contrôle des bagages en soute, d’enregistrement ainsi que dans le hall de départ avec des ponts d’embarquement des passagers (PBB).

blank

Article sponsorisé par:


blank

Aucun commentaires

Faxinfo décline toute responsabilité quant aux contenus publiés et n'a pas vocation à répondre.

English EN French FR Spanish ES Dutch NL Italian IT